• AMY KAUFMAN RELIHAN | timetogethertravel.com


The US Department of State does an amazing job at making all travel advisories and warnings easily assessable and understood. They use plain language to fully explain the dangers and how you should proceed with travel to a particular part of the world. The threat levels are measured and labeled with 4 distinct titles. For Example; Level 1-Use Normal Precautions. Levels 2-Exercise Increased Caution Level-3-Reconsider Travel. Level 4-Do Not Travel. Currently China, Iraq, Syria etc...are Level 4. As a Travel Advisor, I will not book any travel to Level 3 or 4 destinations for my clients.

In addition, if you are a frequent traveler, you can register with STEP-Smart Traveler Enrollment Program. According to the Department of State STEP website:

The Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) is a free service to allow U.S. citizens and nationals traveling and living abroad to enroll their trip with the nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate.

  • Receive important information from the Embassy about safety conditions in your destination country, helping you make informed decisions about your travel plans.

  • Help the U.S. Embassy contact you in an emergency, whether natural disaster, civil unrest, or family emergency.

  • Help family and friends get in touch with you in an emergency.

The Travel.State.Gov website is full of information relating to travel. It is an excellent resource for planning and ensuring your safety and security during any travel abroad. This is a resource I use for every trip I plan for both my own personal travel as well as the travel for my clients. Make this part of your traveling checklist for every trip!!

#internationaltravel #besafe



Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm EST

413 279-3075 

Covering All New England States & Beyond

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon